Music, what else

music baby….

JUDAS PRIEST: ‘Essential’ Two-CD Collection To Arrive In April

Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings will release the two-CD set “The Essential Judas Priest” on April 4.

JUDAS PRIEST rocketed out of the tough steel town of Birmingham, England, more than three decades ago, and the 34 songs collected here form nothing less than the very backbone — the pure essence — of heavy metal. This uncompromising style of rock ‘n’ roll has earned a remarkably loyal fan base worldwide and no other band defines heavy metal better than JUDAS PRIEST.

The core of vocalist Rob Halford, lead guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing and bass guitarist Ian Hill worked with several drummers in the earlier years, with longtime current member Scott Travis rounding out the definitive lineup due to his incredible power and versatility. JUDAS PRIEST knows that what matters is the music, and its ability to blend unforgettable melodies with atomic-bomb power has never been equalled.

All the songs on “The Essential Judas Priest” are the complete original studio album versions featuring the Halford/Tipton/Downing/Hill axis — from the 1976 landmark “Sad Wings Of Destiny” through the astonishing 2005 reunion platter “Angel Of Retribution”.

The track listing is as follows:

Disc 1:

01. Judas Rising (“Angel Of Retribution” – 2005)
02. Breaking The Law (“British Steel” – 1980)
03. Hell Bent For Leather (“Hell Bent For Leather” – 1979)
04. Diamonds And Rust (“Sin After Sin” – 1977)
05. Victim Of Changes (“Sad Wings Of Destiny” – 1976)
06. Love Bites (“Defenders Of The Faith” – 1984)
07. Heading Out To The Highway (“Point Of Entry” – 1981)
08. Ram It Down (“Ram It Down” – 1988)
09. Beyond The Realms Of Death (“Stained Class” – 1978)
10. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin” (“Screaming For Vengeance” – 1982)
11. Jawbreaker (“Defenders Of The Faith” – 1984)
12. A Touch Of Evil (“Painkiller” – 1990)
13. Delivering The Goods (“Hell Bent For Leather” – 1979)
14. United (“British Steel” – 1980)
15. Turbo Lover (“Turbo” – 1986)
16. Painkiller (“Painkiller” – 1990)
17. Metal Gods (“British Steel” – 1980)

Disc 2:

01. The Hellion (“Screaming For Vengeance” – 1982)
02. Electric Eye (“Screaming For Vengeance” – 1982)
03. Living After Midnight (“British Steel” – 1980)
04. Freewheel Burning (“Defenders Of The Faith” – 1984)
05. Exciter (“Stained Class” – 1978)
06. The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown) (“Hell Bent For Leather” – 1979)
07. Blood Red Skies (“Ram It Down” – 1988)
08. Night Crawler (“Painkiller” – 1990)
09. Sinner (“Sin After Sin” – 1977)
10. Hot Rockin’ (“Point Of Entry” – 1981)
11. The Sentinel (“Defenders Of The Faith” – 1984)
12. Before The Dawn (“Hell Bent For Leather” – 1979)
13. Hell Patrol (“Painkiller” – 1990)
14. The Ripper (“Sad Wings Of Destiny” – 1976)
15. Screaming For Vengeance (“Screaming For Vengeance” – 1982)
16. Out In The Cold (“Turbo” – 1986)
17. Revolution (“Angel Of Retribution” – 2005)

“The Essential Judas Priest” liner notes were written by respected veteran rock journalist Geoff Barton.

Sony Music‘s Legacy Recordings divison has issued the best-selling, critically acclaimed “Essential” series of compilations from many of the greatest popular-music recording artists in history.

January 30, 2006 Posted by | ROCK | 2 Comments

LACUNA COIL: Final ‘Karmacode’ Artwork Posted Online –

The final cover art for the much-anticipated new LACUNA COIL album, “Karmacode”, has been posted online at

Asterik Studio (TRAPT, FUNERAL FOR A FRIEND, THE USED), the Grammy-nominated design firm, handled the package design and layout. Their objective was to create a world that would reflect the album’s theme and title. Andrea Ferro (male vocals) describes the meaning behind the album’s unique title: “When it came to coming up with an album title I wanted to combine one ‘old’ word that is spiritually connected with another that offers a link to our more ‘modern’ times. If there were an actual translation of ‘Karmacode’ it would be something like ‘spiritual DNA and the message behind it.’ The title attempts to balance our modern, overwhelming, self-centered, fast-paced lifestyles and the desire we all have to live a more spiritual, more compassionate and more fulfilling life.”

As previously reported, “Karmacode” is scheduled for release on April 4 via Century Media Records. The highly anticipated follow-up to the group’s acclaimed commercial breakthrough album, “Comalies”, was produced by Waldemar Sorychta and LACUNA COIL in Germany and Italy while the album was both mixed by Ronald Prent (RAMMSTEIN, H.I.M., IRON MAIDEN) and mastered by Darcy Proper (STEELY DAN, PORCUPINE TREE, R.E.M.) at Galaxy Studios in Belgium.

Due on March 6 in the U.K., the “Our Truth” single will be available in three formats. The regular CD will include “Our Truth” and an acoustic version of “Unspoken”. There will also be a digipack version of the single featuring “Our Truth”, “Swamped”, a remix of “Our Truth” and a brand-new non-LP track, “Without a Reason”. The final version will be a double-sided picture disc containing “Our Truth” and “Without a Reason”.

LACUNA COIL will be teaming up with ROB ZOMBIE for a North American tour beginning in March.

January 30, 2006 Posted by | ROCK | Leave a comment